Toggle Contrast

PSCP training opportunities for Health Professionals

To protect children and young people from harm, and help improve their wellbeing, all healthcare staff must have the competencies to recognise child maltreatment, opportunities to improve childhood wellbeing, and to take effective action as appropriate to their role.

Safeguarding/child protection competencies are a combination of skills, knowledge, attitudes and values that are required for safe and effective practice. Working Together signposts healthcare organisations to the intercollegiate safeguarding framework and states that ‘All staff working in healthcare services – including those who predominantly treat adults – should receive training to ensure they attain the competencies appropriate to their role and follow the relevant professional guidance’.

Different staff groups require different levels of competence depending on their role, their level of contact with children, young people and families/or contact with any adult who has responsibilities for children through work and hobbies, the nature of their work, and their level of responsibility. All staff working in a healthcare setting must know what to do if there is a safeguarding/child protection concern involving a child or family, know the referral procedure, which includes knowing whom to contact within their organisation to communicate their concerns or seek safeguarding advice.

The intercollegiate document provides a clear framework which identifies the competencies required for all healthcare staff. Levels 1-3 relate to different occupational groups, while level 4 and 5 are related to specific roles. This document sets out the specific education and training requirements for each of these, below is a brief overview of levels 1-3.

Level 1 – At this level, learners need to be able to recognise signs and symptoms of abuse and neglect; know how to report concerns whilst maintaining confidentiality; and be able to follow relevant safeguarding procedures.

Jobs roles in a healthcare setting might include administrative workers, receptionists, catering staff, cleaners, HR staff, health and safety officers, drivers, laboratory staff, transport staff, porters, maintenance staff and volunteers.

Level 2 – The learners who require level 2 safeguarding training will have an increased number of responsibilities. They will need the necessary skills to participate in a safeguarding enquiry and report and record their concerns to assist such enquiries. They will also need to be able to effectively communicate with individuals at risk and gain the knowledge to identify potential abuse.

Jobs roles in a healthcare settings might include: ambulance workers (paramedics require level 3), welfare rights workers, community pharmacists, rehabilitation workers, housing and counsellors.

Level 3 – Undertaking Level 3 safeguarding training implies that the individual has an extremely active role in any safeguarding situation and requires the knowledge to help shape the safeguarding policies of their workplace. At this level those responsible will be able to contribute and manage safeguarding plans for individuals. This level of training is appropriate for those who have a direct responsibility for investigating, reporting and recording any safeguarding concerns, and confidently contributing to inter-agency assessments.

Jobs roles in a healthcare setting might include care workers, doctors, GP, nurses, school, nurses, mental health staff and safeguarding professionals.

The Intercollegiate Document encourages staff to engage in training that is both inter-disciplinary and multi-agency in order to share best practice, learn from serious incidents and to develop professional networks.

In addition to the training offered within your own organisation, the PSCP offers a range of multi-agency training opportunities that support the training requirements and are free of charge for all staff working in Portsmouth from NHS funded organisations to access.

Each level has been designed to match the level of safeguarding responsibility the learner has in their role. You should discuss you training requirements with your manager to agree which courses best meet your learning needs.

PSCP Courses Available

Level 1 and 2

  • Basic Awareness of Safeguarding Children (3hours)

Level 3

  • Early Help (full day)
  • Child Protection (full day)
  • Child Exploitation (full day)
  • Preventing Online Child Sexual Exploitation (two 3hour workshops)
  • Consider your Language: Victim Blaming (2 hours)
  • Adverse Childhood Experiences (3 hours)
  • Empowering Professionals to Effectively Safeguard Children from pre-birth to 3yrs (3 hours)
  • Safeguarding Supervision (full day)
  • Resources for Effective Safeguarding Conversations (1½ hours)
  • Managing Allegations and the Role of the Local Authority Designated Officer (3 hours)

We have also introduced additional online training courses, with the support of our Designated Doctor, that fulfil the requirement of level 3.

  • Bruising Protocol for Non Mobile Infants
  • Medical Examinations for Suspected Child Sexual Abuse
  • Safeguarding Children with Disabilities
  • Process for Safeguarding Medical Examinations

A password is required to access these training sessions and is changed every 6 months. This will be sent to service leads or you can contact PSCP directly for the password update.

Once you have completed the training session you can download and complete the training certificate

For all enquiries about our training programme, making single agency bookings or for help, please contact: / 02392 834404

To find dates and to book a course please visit at